data, data journalism, data visualization, twitter

Find the best datavis users and pieces on Twitter

This post is for people who are curious about data journalism and data visualisation. Since my last year of university (2011), I have been interested in infographics, data and visualisations. However, for the last six months, I have been trying to discover professionals and communities in this field.

I am a Twitter fan and my first step was to create a list called Data Journalism. On that list, I curated some users that, from my point of view, have to be followed by everyone who is interested in this area:

I have also tried several hashtags in order to follow other people, see their work and reach those communities. From all, I have picked up five that I find useful and active:

1. #dataviz

Mainly used for students who are taking Introduction to Infographics and Data Visualization, an online course conducted by Alberto Cairo, to share good and bad visualisations examples:

Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 23.11.22.png

2. #ddj

Data Driven Journalism hashtag used for journalists and students to post about data journalism:

Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 23.12.30

3. #datajournalism

Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 23.14.00

4. #datavisualisation or #datavisualization

Depending on your language and grammar:

Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 23.21.24.png

Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 23.26.42.png

5. #opendata

This hashtag may not only be for data journalists, but they absolutely use open data to produce their stories:

Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 23.25.24.png

Do you have any other examples? Let me know in the comments

 

Standard

One thought on “Find the best datavis users and pieces on Twitter

  1. Pingback: My first steps into data journalism and datavis | dinfografia

Leave a Reply

